top of page

What Would Carrie Bradshaw Do?

"When I first moved to New York I bought Vogue instead of dinner. I just felt it fed me more."-Carrie Bradshaw Sex and the City

Growing up, I've always dreamed of being famous. I mean who hasn't done a little performance in the mirror and thought, "Hey.. Now that's what I call talent!" Okay, maybe just me? Don't judge!

While in the Big Apple, I decided to try my hand at acting. I had seen an open call seeking extras for Sarah Jessica Parker's show "Divorce". I sent in a few head shots and the next day I was in the studio!

They gave me a few suggestions for outfits, all of which are not in my wardrobe. I didn't want to show up with a frumpy outfit because it's against who I am as a person. So, naturally I shove my whole closet back into my suitcase and head to the subway.

The email with time, location, outfits, and general information we needed to know was very specific about hair and makeup. Your hair must be dry and fixed. Want to know what the weather was like? Yup. Pouring down rain... If you know me, you know the unruly frizz and volume that comes with April showers.

I finally find the holding studio, check in, go to the stylist, and hair dresser. We sat down and listened to the men in charge of us explain how the day will go. I was confused with their terminology but a friend reassured me it was easy to follow.

We headed down to the actual studio and set up for the first scene. After we practiced a little, the actual actors came in! Sarah Jessica Parker, Molly Shannon, and Thomas Haden Church... Starstruck is an understatement.

Once my heavy breathing subsided, we went about the day. We weren't allowed to approach the actors or actresses to avoid unwanted pictures and autographs. We also were not allowed to have our phones in the studio. I wouldn't want fifty cameras in my face if I was trying to work, either.

It was very interesting to see how the whole production works. It's a lot more than just action and cut. I have a new respect for what these people do and I will think twice before bashing an actor or actress's performance.

Overall, it was a fun experience, but I think I will leave the acting to the professionals! I will save the drama for Michelle and Bill.

Leave a comment for me! I would love to hear from you!

bottom of page