top of page

"Lazy Afternoon in Central Park"

"You can get the true essence of New Yorkers by just hanging out in Central Park" - Andy Roddick

There's no better way to spend summer evenings than running barefoot through your front yard. The setting sun is warm on your face and the sweet smelling grass tickles between your toes. I can hear the cicadas now!

What a luxury it is to have a yard to enjoy. In large cities, the splendor of green space can only be had in parks.

The hustle and bustle of the city is greatly contrasted to the tranquility of Central Park. An oasis in the middle of the Concrete Jungle, Central Park has quickly become my favorite part of the city.

The "Central Park Loop" is the famous route joggers take on their daily run. There are runners, walkers, cyclists, and skaters in constant motion around the park.

Not just for exercise, Central Park is a great spot to escape the madness of the city for a lunch break or after a long day at work. Centrally located in the city, it is easily accessible when you need to break away from the crowded streets.

My favorite spot is Sheep's Meadow, a hot spot for sunbathing, reading, kicking the soccer ball, and picnics. After a run, I will find an area to cool down in the shade, kick off my running shoes, and savor the feeling of grass between my toes.

Look at my sweet friend KK Seago! KK is from Jackson, Mississippi. We quickly sparked a friendship after I moved to Starkville and have been best pals ever since! This past semester, she has been very successful in Washington DC working in Thad Cochran's office. She took a break from politics to come visit me in my city for the weekend!

(Interesting fact: The first capital was New York City! Thanks Mrs. Heather Johnson and the Hamilton Soundtrack)

KK and I enjoyed a beautiful afternoon in Central Park, walking around, people watching, and eating popsicles!

I had the most incredible weekend with my favorite person in my favorite place, Central Park!

Other than the fact that KK volunteered to pay for me a gym membership (what is she trying to say...) we enjoyed a weekend in NYC!

bottom of page