top of page

At the Ole Ball Game

"It's hard to beat a person who never gives up." -Babe Ruth 

Baseball, America's pastime... The smells, sounds, and feeling of opening day get baseball fans giddy with excitement. I mean, what is better than crisp spring weather, a hot dog, your closest friends, and wearing your team colors on your back? 

My junior year of high school (whoa what a throwback), I was a diamond girl. I hadn't the first clue about baseball. If you asked me the rules of the game I would have probably stared at you with a strange look on my face... I still don't know the logistics of it all! Honestly, I was a diamond girl for the sweatshirt and precious boys in baseball pants... 

To brush up on my baseball knowledge, I decided to make a little visit to Yankee Stadium! 

The rain and gloom of Saturday made way for a beautiful Sunday at Yankee Stadium! The ballpark was packed full of fans ready to enjoy a sunny afternoon...

With the first pitch at 2, I arrived early to find my seat, grab lunch, and have a little look at the Yankee merchandise... The stadium is only a mile from my apartment. I had a nice walk to and from the park along side many other fans from the area!

Here is the view from my seat! There were men climbing up and down the concrete steps yelling about different ball park goodies... "Cotton candy! Get your cotton candy here!" "Cold water! Stay hydrated with ice cold water!" 

The vendors have deep, strong voices. At first,  they are hard to understand until you see the item they are selling. One gentleman's words were a little difficult to interpret. I heard, "I NEED A BEER! I NEED A BEER!" I thought to myself, yeah me too, buddy... Well, come to find out he was yelling, "Heineken beer!" Not at $15 a can...

I enjoyed sweet potato fries, an all organic beef burger, topped with a mound of ketchup. Next time you see me, don't judge me... just encourage me to run around the block!

There was a great gift shop with hats, jerseys, and t-shirts! I would have loved a baseball jersey, but I don't think I am dedicated enough to be worthy!

 The designated hitter was Aaron Judge. When he was up to bat, the speakers would blast a voice over yelling, "All rise!" The crowd would get on their feet and cheer! Along with foam fingers (so tempted to buy one), the fans held foam gavels!!! Fans have even dressed like judges in support of the beloved player...(click the link to watch) 

All white everything to avoid severe heat stroke...

 I had a great time at Yankee Stadium! Look at my new souvenir! 

bottom of page