top of page

Thank you, Mood

"Make it work!"- Tim Gunn

Have you ever binge watched a show on accident? Or maybe it was completely intentional... You pass by the tv (that somehow turned itself on) and the next thing you know your face is 5 inches from the screen with a bowl of popcorn. If you have ever shared the same experience, you know the feeling of complete and utter exhaustion, confusion, and helplessness after...

The final episode plays, you crawl out of the dark hole you have created for yourself, face sunken in, dark circles, and matted hair and try to find the past nine hours that drifted away. It feels as though thirty years have passed.

My best friend Kathleen Gallagher and I once binge watched a whole season of Project Runway. I don't remember how we stumbled upon the marathon, but man... I've never been more invested in a reality tv show in my life.

I worried Kathleen hadn't remembered the (literal) day we spent binge watching Project Runway. It is such a fond memory to me that I will hold dear in my heart! After asking whether or not she remembered the day, she stated, "I will never forget that... ever." Comforting to know!

My internship with Gigi Burris Millinery allows me to design and make my own hat! I went to Mood, the fabric store made popular by the hit tv show Project Runway, to search for trimmings.

The hat starts the way you see it in the picture above. It has no shape and is very flexible. By the end of the process it is shaped and trimmed exactly the way I want!

I found the ribbon, feathers, and a friend to help me. We gathered the materials I thought were pretty and made ourselves comfortable on the floor!

My hat is a burgundy, Panama straw hat, perfect for hot southern afternoons!

Mood has anything and everything you could imagine! Walking into the store, you will be amazed by all of the creative ideas that come to mind.

From fabric, ribbons, buttons, and skins, Mood has all of the materials you need to design your next project!

Each skin is unique in its own way. You have to pick through and find the size and color you want because no one skin matches another.

Mood is difficult to find if you do not research beforehand. Instead of a storefront, you have to enter through glass doors then ride the elevator to the second floor.

After my trip to Mood, I waited for my hat to be blocked. The hat fits me perfectly and I am incredibly pleased with the outcome. I used a blush snake skin and pheasant feathers to trim my hat!

I have learned a skill that I never had thought of before. I look at hats in a new light and with an appretiation. I have enjoyed wearing it and look forward to wearing it at State football games this fall!

bottom of page